Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

skondolf
Regular Visitor

Time Intelligence with Monthly Data Model

Hello -

BI Newbie here and probably something very simple but I can't find a definitive answer so my apologies in advance ...

I'm working on my first BI project and have a requirement to provide sales information by salesrep.  the source data is at a month granularity i.e. sales by rep for Jan 2018, Feb 2018, Mar 2018, etc.  I have 3 years of data like this.  I also have a pre-built calendar table in our source environment that I'm planning on loading in - this table is keyed on a date field with 1 entry for each day starting back in 2010 all the way up through 2040.

My understanding when creating a relationship on a calendar table to a fact table is to make sure the key is a date field.

Since my sales table is monthly and my calendar table is daily my thought is to create a 'date' field in the sales table for the 1st of each month i.e. 01/01/2018, 02/01/2018, etc.  I can then join the 2 tables to take advantage of all the time intelligence functionality.

Is this the correct approach when dealing with monthly data?  Does it make more sense for the date value to be the LAST DAY of each month?  Or can I create a Year/Month field i.e. YYYYMM and join the 2 tables on that?

Again, this sounds simple but it seems like there's multiple ways this could be accomplished.

Thanks in advance.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Seward12533
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Sounds like the right approach. 

View solution in original post

OwenAuger
Super User
Super User

Agree, I routinely create models with monthly transactional data, and simply follow a first-of-the-month or last-of-the-month date convention with dates in the fact table (can't see any reason to prefer one over the other), related to a standard daily calendar table.