Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Hinnax
Frequent Visitor

Time Intelligence over 2 Months

Hello everyone,

I’m pretty new to Power Bi so I‘m afraid my question is too trivial for this forum.

Before I describe the problem, let me start with my setup:

I use a date table with dates over several years. To "navigate through time" I added a few calculated colums to my date-table, which contain if statements and TRUE() / FALSE() as answer. (I assume this is the worst way to filter things, so suggestions about how to do it properly are very welcome)

My source contains -simplified- just a date and a value.

Example of my report:

Date              Value
29.12.2020    3
29.12.2020    1
04.01.2021    2
04.01.2021    5
06.01.2021    3
06.01.2021    6

(Edit: Things got messed up, quickfix)

So here is my problem:

I tried to summarize the values with the time intelligence (December, January), but Power BI keeps seperating the two months instead of summarizing them. If I use the time intelligence for January only, it works fine. (The measure for January looks similar to the ones below)

Calc.png

(The Values without any change are weekends or holidays. The marked value is the first entry for January. As you can see, the values get summarized for December and January separately)

My Measures look like the following examples, I just altered the names, so that you're able to read it properly:

Measure_1 = CALCULATE(SUM('report'[Value]), 'Date[Boolean_X]=TRUE(), 'Date[Boolean_Y]=TRUE() )

(This summarizes all values for the last 4 weeks)

Measure_2 = CALCULATE([Measure_1], DATESBETWEEN('Date[Date], STARTOFMONTH(LASTDATE('Date[Date])), LASTDATE('Date[Date])))
(this one is used in the visual so that i can use the forecast function)