Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

samwong
Frequent Visitor

Time Intelligence functions and dot notation

Hello, newbie here but I could not find any relevant information in the forums (perhaps my search terms are wrong).

I am confused with using dot notation in the time intelligence functions.  Perhaps dot notation is not the correct term, but I come from a OOP background so please excuse.

I managed to calculate the sum of a previous year using:

countPY = calculate(
sum(Data[Count]),
PREVIOUSYEAR(Data[DATE].[Date])
)

I would like to understand why I had to use PREVIOUSYEAR(Data[DATE].[Date]), and not just PREVIOUSYEAR(Data[DATE])

From reading the DAX Reference it sounded to me that the PREVIOUSYEAR() function would intelligently parse out the year from the date.  Why did I have to explicitly add .[Date] to the expression?  (The calculation does not work when  .[Date] is removed.)

(the TRAP_DATE column is categorized as a Date field and not a String field.)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Time intelligence functions work by shifting around the "window" of dates that are visible in the filter context, not by performing math on the Data[Date] column to "create" values that don't already exist in the column.  So the dates must exist for the functions to work properly.  In your example the PREVIOUSYEAR() function call will return all the dates from the previous year, given the last date visible in Data[Date] column - but only if they exist.  PREVIOIUSYEAR () as called will basically do this:

FILTER ( ALL ( Data[Date] ), YEAR ( Data[Date] ) = YEAR ( MAX ( Data[Date] ) ) - 1 ) 

So one reason to use a separate Calendar table is to be sure you have all contiguous dates needed.  Once you have studied up on Dax you'll realize having a separate Calendar table with full year, contiguous dates is a best practice.