Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Emoes
Helper I
Helper I

Tickets, Open, Closed and backlog

Hello All,

I’m new to Power Bi and thought I knew enough from Excel to make it in Power Bi….

Not.

Attached (via Dropbox, because I could not add attachments directly to this post) I have the example in Excel (Test data)

Backlog test data 

I have the following:

I have a list of Servicedesk tickets.

Those tickets have a creation date, and if they are closed a Closed date.

I would like to create an overview showing one or more years but per month (with a chart) of the Tickets created per month, the tickets closed in that same month and also the Backlog per month.

In the attached excel you will find the Created date (time is not important), de Date Closed.

And a Column containing the last day of the month, and behind that, calculated the backlog (the number of open items in that specific month)

=COUNTIFS(A:A;"<="&EOMONTH(A2;0);B:B;">"&EOMONTH(D2;0))+COUNTIFS(A:A;"<="&EOMONTH(D2;0);B:B;"")

Is someone able to help me out to create this overview in Power Bi?

I also have a date table available in Power Bi.

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Here's how I would calculate backlog.  Feel free to adjust.

lbendlin_0-1649770122395.png

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
DiKi-I
Helper III
Helper III

Hi @Ibendlin

How I can get this work both at daily,montly and yearly grain?

Dims_0-1698882645512.png

@DiKi-I please open a new thread.  Please provide sample data (with sensitive information removed) that covers your issue or question completely, in a usable format (not as a screenshot). Leave out anything not related to the issue.
If you are unsure how to do that please refer to https://community.fabric.microsoft.com/t5/Community-Blog/How-to-provide-sample-data-in-the-Power-BI-...