Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Table with multilple date relationships

Hi everyone! I'm pretty new in PowerBI, just tarted a few weeks ago.

I'm trying to perfom next:

In one table, I have mutiple columns displaying values. Does values are measures or calculated columns, values that come from different sources (Excel, SQL Server). Since all the data is connected I decided to have it all in one table.

So, my scenario is like this: One table that is displaying values by Country. For this table, I need to have 2 date slicers. The idea is that some columns are impacted with one of the slicer and other columns should be impacted with the other slicer. I guest that maybe this could be done changing simple formulas with others a bit more implicit.

Example:

Me actual YTD SALES whas SUM('Sales'[USD])

How I guest that it could work:

CALCULATE(
    SUM('Sales'[USD]);
    DATESBETWEEN(
     'DateTable1'[Date];
     FIRSTDATE('DateTable1'[Date]);
     LASTDATE('DateTable1'[Date])
    )
   )

And an other measure that should be impacted with the other slicer using the other DateTable2.

But it is not working for me.

Any suggestions? Can something like this be done?

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
kcantor
Community Champion
Community Champion

@Anonymous

I am a little confused.  Do you actually have two seperate columns with dates or is it one date column with two other columns of data?

If you have multiple date columns, relate both to your date table. One will have an inactive relation ship. To use the first date, just write you dax as usual. To use the second date with the inactive date, use the USERELATIONSHIP function.