Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Table Query Design in Microsft Access or Power BI Desktop - What is good practice for design?

Hi - I am not an IT developer, but have strong MS Access skills and I am able to merge many data sources in MS Access, using relational models and unique record sets. I am also able to utilise PBI desktop through to publishing and so on, so for "simple" tables and outputs this is all working - 

However, I am struggling to perceive/understand the best way to query data in Power BI Desktop. This maybe a knowledge gap or misunderstanding about what PBI calls queries. i.e. my mind is seeing MS Access queries, whese PBI seems to have a water down version of MS Access queries, albeit similar!

My reality is that in MS Access, I can "freely" create joins, group and cross calculate data, at will. I can milestone data between queries and trap certain records during the data flow.  However, in PBI, when I use the "merge query" function, I seem to be limited to setting up 2 relationships at a time to create a new output.

Now don't get me wrong, I have used the data layout and modeling to join several tables and I am satisfied that when tables are joined here, I am able to create a visualisation that is pulling related content into a credible output.

I am stuggling to comprehend the limitation of the PBI query function. The transform, relabelling of columns and simple features are great, as is the merge function etc, but "to me" these are not actually what I would call a query when compared to joining several MS Access tables at once.