Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

gmtom1
Regular Visitor

Summarize data between dates

I'm just getting started on Power BI, so please excuse the stupid question.  I have a project assignment table with total hours, employee, start and end date fields in it and I would like to summarize the total hours by employee and time period with proper cutoffs and proration of the total hours by month.  The built in visualizations seem to be only based on one date field, but the hours could span across months.

For example, a project might start 1/23/17 and end 2/3/17 and have 80 total hours, but I want to see the hours in the date drill down separated as 56 hours in January and 24 hours in February in the chart visual.

Help!

6 REPLIES 6
gmtom1
Regular Visitor

My starting data is an excel file with the following columns:

Sheet NameAssigned ToStart DateEnd DateScheduled HoursDurationOvertimeProrated Hours
ABC CoJane Doe07/18/1608/12/1616020d 80

Prorated Hours is a calculated cell that returns the amount of hours from the start date through the end of that month (7/31/16 in this example) based on the number of working days between Start Date and the end of the month, and the number of hours per day, which is derived from Scheduled HoursOvertime (which is true or false) and the number of working days between Start Date and End Date.

My ideal goal would be to use the timeline slicer in a visualization that filters the result of prorated hours in a measured column.  However, just a measured column that returns the amount of hours from a given start date field to the end of a month end is fine, assuming it is within the month I am interested in.

The genesis of this need is to show forecasted hours visualizations from a table of project assignments by employee; basically a backlog database.