Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Meraki

Sum salaries between a start date and end date/current time?

Hi 🙂

I'm a newbie to power BI and I have a table with employee data: monthly salary, employee ID, employment start date and end date. I need to be able to calculate/SUM their salaries over any given year for a report (so - year to date, last year to date, and so forth). Some of the end dates are missing naturally, since some are still employed, so there's empty cells under "end date" column.

First off I should have a date table and join a relationship, right?

Second, I don't know where to begin with the DAX code. It would be so helpful if someone could advise on how to calculate this. Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-kelly-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi  @Meraki ,

Rather than creating a date table,I would prefer to recommend you tranform the table first in query editor:

Using below M codes to get a list for the year period:

Year=let _enddate=if [EndDate]=null then DateTime.FixedLocalNow() else [EndDate]
in
{Date.Year([StartDate])..Date.Year(_enddate)}

vkellymsft_0-1635394677651.png

Then using below dax expression to get the months for each working year:

Month for each year =
VAR _enddate =
    IF ( 'Table'[EndDate] = BLANK (), TODAY (), 'Table'[EndDate] )
VAR _minyear =
    CALCULATE (
        MIN ( 'Table'[Year] ),
        FILTER ( 'Table', 'Table'[EmployeeID] = EARLIER ( 'Table'[EmployeeID] ) )
    )
VAR _maxyear =
    CALCULATE (
        MAX ( 'Table'[Year] ),
    )
RETURN
    IF (
        'Table'[Year] = _minyear,
        IF (
            'Table'[Year] <> _maxyear,
            DATEDIFF (
                'Table'[StartDate],
                DATE ( YEAR ( 'Table'[StartDate] ), 12, 31 ),
                MONTH
            ) + 1,