Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

KriZo
Resolver I
Resolver I

Sum only first entry

Hi

I have been trying to figure this out for a few days now. I am very new to DAX language, but pretty good at googeling, and figuring out how to change what ever functions i might find, but this time i haven't succeeded. 

I have a bunch of columns and rows that contains arrival of items from suppliers. in a new colum i have created a formula that returns the value 1 if the line was delivered timely, and 0 if it wasn't, column named [On time]. However as it often occurs, a supplier might deliver a line partially. What i want is to sum only the values, for the first entries. 

Each row has an orderline ID which is a concatanation of order No, Orderline no, Item. 

So i need a Dax formula that checks whether the [Orderline ID] exists more than once, and if it does, only return the value from [On Time], from the first time this orderline was delivered. [Orderline Arrival Date]. 

Hope it makes sense 🙂 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Sorry for all my posts, i promise this is the last 🙂 Just wanted to show, what it ended up being. The solution provided by @v-ljerr-msft kept on making issues for me, so i reverted back to the firstnonblank solution. And this was the final, which does excactly what i want everywhere. 

OTP = CALCULATE(SUMX(DISTINCT(DelOrder[OrderLineID]);FIRSTNONBLANK(DelOrder[On Time];0))/DISTINCTCOUNT(DelOrder[OrderLineID]);DISTINCT(DelOrder[OrderLineID]);ALL(DelOrder[Orderline arrival date]))

Never the less, thanks for the help. @v-ljerr-msft now i know how to use VAR, and i kickstarted som though processes, that eventually lead to my final solution. 

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
v-ljerr-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @KriZo,