Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Mat87
Frequent Visitor

Sum of values by each category

Greetings all,

I'm new to Power BI/Dax in general so apologize if this might seems obvoious but I couldn't manage to find a way to do it.

I basically have the outputs in column A:B, 

what I want is the output in column C (sum of values by each category).

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Mat87,

Besides, You can add a ALLEXCEPT filter in formula when you create a calculative column.

=CALCULATE(SUM(Table6[Value]),ALLEXCEPT(Table6,Table6[Category]))

Then you will get expected result shown in the following screenshot.

1.PNG

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Best Regards,
Angelia

View solution in original post

18 REPLIES 18
Mat87
Frequent Visitor

Never mind I got it working.

By the way is there a way to do this in Powerpivot for Excel 2013? It doesn't seems to support variables. 

Thank you very much for you efforts.  

Hi @Mat87,

Besides, You can add a ALLEXCEPT filter in formula when you create a calculative column.

Then you will get expected result shown in the following screenshot.

1.PNG

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Best Regards,
Angelia

This filter works perfectly up until I apply a slicer/filter to the data range the data covers.  How do I alter this formula to account for thd date changes?

In fact - i have any number of filters that could be applied that would affect the required total outcome of the figures.

Hi,

Please share a dataset and show the expected result.

Regards,
Ashish Mathur
http://www.ashishmathur.com
https://www.linkedin.com/in/excelenthusiasts/

The dataset is a pretty standard transactional procurement dataset, line item invoice details.

TtlSpendbySupp is the key column with the measure.