cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Mat87 Regular Visitor
Regular Visitor

Sum of values by each category

Greetings all,

I'm new to Power BI/Dax in general so apologize if this might seems obvoious but I couldn't manage to find a way to do it.

I basically have the outputs in column A:B, 

what I want is the output in column C (sum of values by each category).

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
v-huizhn-msft Super Contributor
Super Contributor

Re: Sum of values by each category

Hi @Mat87,

Besides, You can add a ALLEXCEPT filter in formula when you create a calculative column.

=CALCULATE(SUM(Table6[Value]),ALLEXCEPT(Table6,Table6[Category]))

Then you will get expected result shown in the following screenshot.

1.PNG

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Best Regards,
Angelia

12 REPLIES 12
itayrom Member

Well, you could create a calculated column with an expression such as this-

Total value by category = 
	VAR
		category = [Category]
	RETURN
		CALCULATE(SUM([Value]), FILTER(Table1, [Category] = category))

(For each row, calculate the sum of Value of all rows where Category equals to that of the current row).

But I'm not sure as to why you'd want to do that. Here is an incomplete list of reasons why-

1. Power BI can do such summarizations & aggregations on its own, and in real time.

For example, if you'd add a Pie Chart to your report, set Category as its legend and Value as its values, it would automatically calculate the sum of values for each category.

2. Since the total is now present in each row, aggregations/summarizations made by Power BI on that column may result in meaningless/incorrect values.

For example, if you'd add a Pie Chart to your report, set Category as its legend and 'Total value by category' as its values, you'd get the total multiplied by the number of rows with the same category(E.g. AA = 40).