cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Jorgast Member

Sum of H:MM:SS

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Power BI and I am trying to figure out this problem. I have a field called [talk time] in Excel that is H:MM SS format. I brought the data into to Power BI and changed the format to HH:MM SS. What I am trying to do is sum the [talk time] data. When I just use the DAX of “SumTalkTime =Sum(TableName[talk time])” then I get 4:45:01 when it should be 28:45:01. How do I get the Power BI to show the correct sum in the HH:MM SS format?

Once I get that done I have more columns that are the same format. If I wanted to add [SumTalkTime] to another summed column let’s call it [SumTalk2], would I just use =Sum(SumTalkTime+ SumTalk2)”

As I looked through the forum, I tried to sum the talk time using just the normal sum function. Then I tried to go back to change it to the time format I need using the DAX formula below and I get a conversion error.

RevisedTT = (LEFT('Agent State Summary'[SumTalkTime],FIND(":",'Agent State Summary'[SumTalkTime])-1)*60+RIGHT('Agent State Summary'[SumTalkTime],LEN('Agent State Summary'[SumTalkTime])-FIND(":",'Agent State Summary'[SumTalkTime]))*1)/60

Cannot convert Value ‘12/31/1899 12’ to type text to type number

Here is some example data

Talk Time

Talk 2

TOTAL

4:11:37

4:11:37

8:23:14

3:41:17

3:41:17

7:22:34

4:02:22

4:02:22

8:04:44

5:24:39

5:24:39

10:49:18

3:47:59

3:47:59

7:35:58

2:54:36

2:54:36

5:49:12

4:42:31

4:42:31

9:25:02

28:45:01

28:45:01

57:30:02

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Jorgast Member

Re: Sum of H:MM:SS

Thank you for the responses,

I have tried a DAX formula that seems to work.

SumTalkTime =

VAR TotalSeconds=SUMX('Table Name',HOUR('Table Name'[Column])*3600+MINUTE('Table Name'[Column])*60+SECOND('Table Name'[Column]))
VAR Days =TRUNC(TotalSeconds/3600/24)
VAR Hors = TRUNC((TotalSeconds-Days*3600*24)/3600)
VAR Mins =TRUNC(MOD(TotalSeconds,3600)/60)