Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

kimalto452
Frequent Visitor

Sum by category two variants

Hi, I'm new with powe bi. I don't understand why this code work

Total price by category=
VAR category=[group]
RETURN CALCULATE(  SUM ([price]), FILTER (table1,[group]=category) )

and this code dosen't work
Total price by category=
CALCULATE(  SUM ([price]), FILTER (table1,[group]=[group]) )

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

@kimalto452 - This is some context. Probably the biggest learning curve with DAX is understanding the context. It is literally the most important DAX concept. As such, it deserves a thorough explanation without anything vague.

Therefore, this is a calculated column for the row context to apply (see article). therefore

Consider this code:

VAR category[group]
RETURN CALCULATE( SUM ([price]), FILTER (table1,[group]-category) )
What this is saying is:
  1. Get the value of the "group" column within the current row
  2. Now, SUM the price column for each row in the table by comparing the value of the group column in that row with this value that is stored in the variable "category", if they match, then add them

This will return what was intended. Give me a sum of the price column for all rows in this table that match the same group value as the current row.

In front of this code:

Total price by category ?
CALCULATE( SUM ([precio]), FILTER (tabla1,[grupo]-[grupo]) )
What this says is:
  1. Sum the price column for each row in the table by comparing the value of the group column in that row with the group column value of that same row and, if they match, its sum

So that's why you get the total sum for all rows in the second formula because obviously the group column in each row matches the group column in that row.

Now, consider this formula: