Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

delphinew
Helper III
Helper III

Sum a multiplication with if

Hi everyone, 

I am a newbie at Power BI, very used to Qlik but have to change software. 

I have an issue with a formula of that type : sum(quantity*if(cost_a<>0;cost_a;cost_b)). To do that, I have 2 tables :

- TRANSACTION

- ARTICLES

as shown below

Capture.PNG

I highlighted the column needed for the calculation. I then want to have the result of course for each product but also for each type of client (as you can see, the column is sadly empty) :

Capture2.PNG

I tried to combine the IF function with the SUM, the SUM with FILTER, and didn't succeed to anything. I guess I don't know how to use the IF function properly. If anyone could help me on that issue, it would be great !

Thank you very much for your help, 

Delphine

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@delphinew Try like. maxx

sumx(SUMMARIZE(ARTICLES;ARTICLES[ART_code];"M1";maxx(ARTICLES;if('ARTICLES'[ART_PRI]<>0; 'ARTICLES'[ART_PRI];'ARTICLES'[ART_PRI_Exact]));
 "M2";sum('TRANSACTION'[V_qte]));[M1]*[M2])

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
V-pazhen-msft
Community Support
Community Support

@delphinew 

Try combine with your actual model, I am not clear of how is your model looks like but try something like this:

Measure = 
var costtable = SUMMARIZE('Transaction','Transaction'[ART_code], 'Transaction'[Product], 'Transaction'[Client Type],'Transaction'[Cost a], 'Transaction'[Cost b],"Cost", IF('Transaction'[Cost a]<>0,'Transaction'[Cost a],'Transaction'[Cost b]))

Return SUMX(ALLEXCEPT(costtable,[product],[client type]),'Transaction'[Quantity]*[Cost])

The idea is create a column of actual cost, you can store it in the measure like above using Summarize, or just create a calculated column in the transaction table: