Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Subtract Column cell value from another Calculated column cell value

Hello,

I am new to Power BI and got stuck with one thing in a report. I want to create a sales report which:

1. Links all Sales data to external pricelist which includes additional support from suppliers for certain time periods. Step DONE: used calculated column with filters to find needed value. I called this column [NNP].

2. Then I need to subtract from each column [Sales] value of calculated column [NNP] and if the value is < 0:

2.1 in new column [Budget] use function ABS([Sales]-[NNP]);

2.2. in new column [BudgetWriteOff] insert value "Yes".

Whenever I try to subtract values from column [Sales] and [NNP] I get circular reference error.

Has anyone got any ideas how I could solve this?

A big thanks in advance!

10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

Can you provide us with some Sample Data and the Expected Output. Some Screenshots basically,

Further more If you are looking to Subtract vales from a Table which is not linked to the Current Table, then you would use a DAX function called TreatAs

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

ok so initially I had two tables 'Cost' and 'Sales': cost.PNGtable1.PNG

Then I created a calculated column in table 'Sales' which takes product cost based on sales date and actual cost for that date. Outcome was this:table2.PNG

Now I need to create 2 more columns:

1. Calculated column [Budget] which calculates [Sales]-[NNP]. If value <0, then use ABS([Sales]-[NNP]). Otherwise cell value is 0

2. If value in calculated column [Budget] <> 0, cell value should be "Yes", otherwise "No".

Desired outcome:table3.PNG

Hope it is clearer now.

Anonymous
Not applicable