Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Subtotal not working properly

Hi all!

I'm trying to get the total sum of a table, which has values in different currencies.

I started learning DAX two weeks ago but I managed to get the correct sum by month, but the subtotals are not working.

Basically...

I have a table with the value of each currency in dollar:

Factor.PNG

To get only the values in the ARS currency, I used:

Total_Orçado_ARS = SUMX(FILTER(Arg_Orcado;Arg_Orcado[Currency]="ARS");Arg_Orcado[ValorOrçado])

Total_ARS.PNG

To convert ARS to USD:

Convert_ARS_USD = SUMX(FILTER(db_Currency;db_Currency[LocalCurrency]="ARS");db_Currency[Factor])

And finally, to get the total amount corrected:

Total_ARS_USD = DIVIDE([Total_Orçado_ARS];[Convert_ARS_USD];0)

The result per row appears correct, but the subtotal does not.

ARS_USD.PNG

1) How can I get the correct subtotal (8.215.067,05 ARS)?

2) Any suggestions on how I can optimize this currency conversion?

Best Regards

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-xicai
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous 

For your question1 ,this looks like a measure totals problem. Essentially, create a "Calculate_Row" measure that calculates correct result at the row level.

Calculate_Row = DIVIDE([Total_Orçado_ARS],[Convert_ARS_USD],0)

Then, create a "Total_USD" measure that performs a SUMMARIZE of your data, exactly as how it is displayed in your table, and use the "Total_USD" measure within that SUMMARIZE function to provide the values for the individually summarized rows. Finally, perform a SUMX function across that summarized table to employed in the Total line. The HASONEVALUE function check whether it is really necessary to use that the SUMX.

Total_USD =