Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

NicLeam
Frequent Visitor

String text parsing-where, why, and how

I'm very new to PowerBi, coming from a SAS background. Any help would be appreciated!

Firstly--I'm not sure what functions I should carry out in the Query Editor, and what I should try to do in the table/Home view. Is there a reference graphic/flowchart?  In the Query Editor, I have done some basic data manipulation (filtering, renaming, upcasing, and replacing text within rows (ReplaceValue)).

1. Is there a summary of the query step outcome--e.g., where PowerBi would tell me "X number of times 'OldValue' was replaced by 'NewValue'?" 

2. What's the best/quickest way to determine if a step 'worked'?

3. I have several large text fields. I want to create flags to determine which key terms occur.

For example: Variable/column name=Recommendation.  Ideally would like to create variables like Autopsy_flag, Record_flag, Hospital_flag. If the text 'AUTOPSY' occurs anywhere in the very long string Recommendation, would like Autopsy_flag=1. And so on for the remaining flags. Then I would like to use combinations of those flag results to filter (drop/keep) observations. 

To create these new variables: Do I need to do it in Query Editor? Or do I need to do calculate a measure (and if so--why and how)? I have tried various bits of DAX in places and nothing seems to work, though I seemed to create a new measure, it wasn't visible in the table, and it didn't appear to actually work (all zeros when I dragged that field into the Visualization table report canvas), though no error message was displayed.

I've tried things like:  

Custom Column: Autopsy_flag=IF(CONTAINS(#"Previous Query Step","Previous Query Step"[Recommendation], "AUTOPSY"),1,0)