cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jude_c Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

Strange error with outer joins: Invalid operator on id field (source seems fine!)

Hey Power BI Community,

Firstly, HAPPY HOLIDAYS, and thanks for your help on my posts of earlier this year! I'm a data scientist who picked up Power BI to help with an ops project earlier this year, and I've since LOVED it for so many applications (feels like I'm cheating on R + Shiny!). 

Anyways, I'm writing because I'm getting a strange error when attempting a Right Outer or Full Outer join/merge. Unfortunately, I cannot share my data, nor pbix (for intuitive reasons), but I here's the error message...

DataSource.Error: 

OpportunityFieldHistory WHERE (Field LIKE '%Stage%')
                              ^
ERROR at Row:1:Column:119
invalid operator on id field
Details:
List

It's strange, 1) because the query I'm attempting to merge doesn't have 119 columns, and 2) I have no clue what the Details mean by "list," as the 'id' field in the query I'm looking to merge doesn't contain any list in values or data type. :-\

If you have any ideas, they'd be much appreciated. Have a great day/night!

-Jude C.

2 REPLIES 2
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: Strange error with outer joins: Invalid operator on id field (source seems fine!)

@jude_c,

You may check if the LIKE operator is supported for string fields only.

Community Support Team _ Sam Zha
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
jude_c Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

Re: Strange error with outer joins: Invalid operator on id field (source seems fine!)

Hey V_Chuncz,

I'm not sure I understand. Can you rephrase that?

For what it's worth, like I said, I'm only doing a join and that's through the GUI (Merge Queries dialog), which only gives the option of what kind of join to use and nothing else.

JC

Helpful resources

Announcements