Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

r_z
Frequent Visitor

Store SUM from table 1 in table 2

Hello smart people.

I am new to Power Bi, DAX and I need some help.

I have table 1 in Power Bi where I have list of different part numbers with current stock levels. I am then projecting closing stock values for each week.

Question 1: How to create Table 2 in Power BI using DAX and store total closing stock from Table 1 for each week ?

Question 2:  Is it possible to store result of calculation from table 1 as values in table 2, so as soon as week finished, numbers for that week are captured and they don't change everytime I press "Refresh". To do this in excel I would take cell with formula and copy/paste as values.  

I am able to do this in Excel, but I want to do this in Power BI, so I don't need Excel (middle man) to do the calculation. 

Table 1      

Part NumberCurrent StockWeek 1 Closing stockWeek 2 Closing stockWeek 3 Closing stockWeek 4 Closing stocketc -->
A1231015201816 
B1231015201816 
C1231015201816 
D1231015201816 
E1231015201816 
etc       

Table 2      

WeeksTotal Closing stock     
Week 175     
Week 2100     
Week 390     
Week 480     

Massive thanks.

R

10 REPLIES 10
ryan_mayu
Super User
Super User

Q1:  Edit queries and unpivot columns (in the transform tab). That can switch columns with rows.

Q2: build relationship between two tables, then you can use calculate(sum(amount), week="week1").  I am also a new users and hope that can help you.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

r_z
Frequent Visitor

Hi Ryan

Thanks for reply.