Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Rees
Frequent Visitor

Stacked Column Chart Linked to Card

Hello, I am pretty new to PowerBI. I have a dashboard (not created by me) that has a stacked column chart showing total user count per month for the past 13 months. There is also a card showing the total user count for one particular user type (the stacked chart includes all user types).

When I click on a single column in the stacked chart, the card shows the counts for that user type. This is good.

When I click off of specific column (so that the entire stacked chart is 'focused', the card shows counts for that user type,  across the entire 13 month span. This is good. 

So, there is a linkage there.  I would like to make the title dynamic. So, across all 13 months shown (Aug/2018 to Aug/2019 for example), I would like to make the title "9/2018-9/2019 Type A UCount" for the Card. If I click on 4/2019, I would like the card title  to be "4/2019 Type A UCount".

I have successfully made dynamic titles using DAX expresssions (I think that is what they are called). I have a successfull DAX expression changing the title to the specific month/year that is clicked on (in the stacked chart). However, I cannot seem to determine when all columns are focused. 

I don't know how to do it based on the specific bar clicked on in the Stacked Column Chart.  Is there a way? Seems like there should be. I mean, I've used various reporting tools for quite some time, and dynamic column labels are pretty easy to do.

5 REPLIES 5
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

HI @Rees ,

Actually, the highlight effect is similar to normal filter, you can use dax functions(allselected/values, min/max) to get current selection.

Sample title measure:

title measure =
IF (