Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Prasad1
Helper I
Helper I

Splitting stock at Product aggregate level as per the ratio of sales at Product level

Hi

I am rather new to PowerBI (not new to Business intelligence though. From SAP BI background).

I have to split stocks at Product group level to Product level based on the ratios derived from % of sales at the product level in other table. So I have following information in excel sheets

1. Product group - Product relation table (1:Many => 1 product group (PG) will have multiple products

2. Sales Volumes at Product level => PG Group, Product, Sales volume

3. Stock volumes at Product group level => PG Group, Stock Volume.

Step1: To arrive at the % of sales share of each Product in the Product group. Each PG group total sale is considered as 100% and each SKU sale with in the PG is compared with it's PG group sale total and % sales share at each Product level obtained.

Step 2: Take the % of sales share of each Product to the stock table and split respective Product Group stock across it's Product based on % of share.

Challenges:

1. Some Product groups have 2 products in it and some Product groups have more than 6 products in it.

2. Not all Products with in the product group have sales.

3. Not all Product groups have stocks. There could be zero stock for some product groups but here are sales. (Easy: No need to split zero stock :-))

I am struggling to achieve the above through Power BI. I tried Power Query as well but no luck yet.

Any guidance to resolve this ? Your help is grately appreciated.

I am attahcing screen shots of my tables here.

Product group stocks.PNGProduct gruop, Product sales volumesProduct gruop, Product sales volumes

Thanks And regards

Prasad

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hey @Prasad1