Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Shimi43
Frequent Visitor

Splitting Text By Delimiter with Unpredictable Ending Delimiter

I'm rather new to Power BI. I'm working on a project in which I'm trying to split paragraphs of words into sections. The paragraphs are listed in a table   I have the titles of all the desiered sections and can put them in a list, and have found a mass replacement that allowed me to standarize all of the section names in the paragraphs as shown below.  

The problem is the order of section names is inconsistant. Ideally I would just put a list and it would end there

=Table.AddColumn(#"20. Mass Replace Section Names", "CAP Information", each Text.BetweenDelimiters([Data], "CAP", {"FRUITING_BODY", "LATEX","GILLS", "STALK", "VEIL", "SPORE_PRINT", "HABITAT", "EDIBILITY", "COMMENTS"}, type text)

This would just grab the information after the word CAP and stop grabbing info after running into one of the other section names. But this doesn't work and I haven't been able to find or create a function that can do this. Can someone smarter than me help me out?  Thank you in advance.

If you want examples of entries: