Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

NiugeS
Helper V
Helper V

Split Columns with matching value in multiple rows

Hi - I'm new to Power BI and not sure if this is possible.  I've searched through the forum but might be searching for the wrong terms.

I have the following Example data in columns where in the Name column there is the family name and also subsets.  The Type distinguishes the Family name from the subsets (Type A family name Type B subset).   I am trying to find a way to get 'Result Wanted'.  I've tried transforming data, using text delimiters etc but as there are so many variables, haven't had any success.  Any help appreciated.

NameTypeResult Wanted
ABCAABC
ABC-TestBABC
ABC - RunBABC
ABC - TestedBABC
DEF-GADEF-G
DEF-G - TestersBDEF-G
DEF-G-breakBDEF-G
DEF-G - TesterBDEF-G
H I J - K LAH I J - K L
H I J - K L - TesterBH I J - K L
H I J - K L - breakBH I J - K L
H I J - K L - RunBH I J - K L
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Here's the M code to do it. Paste into the Advanced Editor in Power Query and examine the steps.

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WcnRyVtJRcgRhICtWByyiG5JaXAIUckIVVtBVCCrNwyoO0pCagibl4uqm6w41HcKGi8K0FBVD9aDJ6yYVpSZmY5eD68WQ9lDwVPACSnsr+ECtRRZBU4FuDH6lyO7BrxIRRCjqYgE=", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Name = _t, Type = _t, #"Result Wanted" = _t]),
    #"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(Source, "Result Achieved", each if [Type] = "A" then [Name] & " - ARTIFICIAL" else [Name]),
    #"Split Column by Delimiter" = Table.SplitColumn(#"Added Custom", "Result Achieved", Splitter.SplitTextByEachDelimiter({"-"}, QuoteStyle.Csv, true), {"Result Achieved.1", "Result Achieved.2"}),