Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ThomasAJ

Source, Queries, and Reports relationships concepts.

I have a lot of programming experience but I cannot quite understand a few things about the above.

1.  Is the Source data stored in PBI? (example Access data) Probably not.

2.  If I create a query #2 can I use the table from query #1? I mean sure I can select the same table as used by q#1 but can I just say 'use same table as q#1? Probably not.

3.  In Report area can I have Visualizations from diferent queries on the same Page 1? Or can 1 Page ONLY use 1 query?

4. If '1 Page ONLY uses 1 query'  AND I want to see diferent aspects of the same underlying table SIMULTANEOUSLY I do not see how that can be done as it seems ONLY ONE Page can be viewed at a time. I cannot see where pages can have their own 'windows' either within or without the Power BI Desktop s/w.

Many thanks

Tom

4 REPLIES 4
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

HI @ThomasAJ,

Do you mean power query tables?

Following replies are based on 'yes' option.

#1. Power bi will cache data tables into power bi service.

#2. Yes, you can refer other query tables which outside of current table.(actually, you can refer cache tables of previous steps and external query tables.)

Notice: power query not allow to create tables with same name, even if you reference a table or duplicate it, you need to rename the copies one.

#3. I haven't heard power bi contians this limitations on report page.

#4. Data models are generated from query tables, so it is impossible to get multiple model tables form one query table. (one query one table) I'd like to suggest you duplicate query tables, then add different operations on them to achieve different effect.

Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng

Community Support Team _ Xiaoxin