Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

McSarah
Helper I
Helper I

Slicer for overlapping groups - need help

Hi everyone, I'm new to PowerBI so bear with me:

I need a slicer that can be used to filter a view down to the members of a given group or groups. A record/ member can be in one or many groups, where group membership is defined by a series of true/false flags on the main table. (Which means a simple FK to a lookup table will not work.)

I'd like a single slicer control to drive this behavior, not multiple individual slicers. And I'd like to avoid having to build out a many-many association table, since this data is subject to change and I want to keep things simple (plus this is a common use case in my organization and I want a lean solution). I've done this many times in Tableau, but I'm having trouble figuring out how it's done in PowerBI.

Here's the structure of my primary table:

name    |   group1   |   group2   |   group3   |   group4   |   and so on....

apple         TRUE        FALSE         FALSE         FALSE

banana      FALSE        TRUE          TRUE          FALSE

peach         TRUE        FALSE         TRUE          FALSE

pear            TRUE        FALSE         FALSE         TRUE       

plum           FALSE       FALSE         FALSE         FALSE

And here's my current setup, which is failing:

1) a data table with flags in the view, like the above example. I'm displaying the row level table in the report, not an aggregation.

2) an unlinked lookup table to provide values for the slicer & to be used in calc field logic (GroupID, GroupName)

3) a slicer built from the lookup table (list of GroupNames, single select for now but multiselect is ideal)