Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

GustavO65
Helper II
Helper II

Show previous year's sales, but only within the filter date range

Dear forum..

I am new with the use of PowerBI and am testing it with the aim of using it in my professional work.

So far watching videos and reading different posts or tutorials I was able to advance the knowledge of the tool.

But I'm stuck in something that I've been spinning for several days and I can't figure it out.

For most of the customers I have it is very important (vital) to always compare the sales metrics (units and amount) with the same period but the previous year.

When I refer to "period" I am indicating a date range "From"/"To" applied as a filter by whoever uses the report.

For example, if you want to see sales by branch (units and amounts) from 15/02/2020 to 31/03/2020, I must somehow get sales from 15/02/2019 to 31/03/2019.

The goal is to get such a report. (e.g.)

Sales from 15/02/2020 to 31/03/2020

BranchesUnitsMatterPrevious UnitsPrevious Amount
Local A12001250001000130000
Local B8503560001200650312

All sales data is in a single SQL Server table that each record is the detail of all billing receipts.

Date, Customer, No Proof, Item, Unit Price, Units, Amount, etc...

I have tried with dateadd, sameperiodolastyear, etc. etc. etc... But with none of them I managed to get the previous year's sales correctly

I hope someone can help me with this.

Thank you very much

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
amitchandak
Super User
Super User

@GustavO65 , Make sure you do it with date calendar

LYTD  forced= 
var _max1 =maxx(allselected('Date'),[date])
var _max = date(year(_max1)-1,month(_max1),day(_max1))
var _min1 =minx(allselected('Date'),[date])
var _min = date(year(_min1)-1,month(_min1),day(_min1))
return