Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

amotto11
Helper II
Helper II

Show Top N values in Table

Hello, I am pretty new to Power BI and Dax, and need some help showing the Top N values in a table as well as on my page.

I have a fact table with all of the product identifiers and amounts, and a dimension table with the product identifiers and their respective names. I have created another table in Power BI called Top Table with column TopN and values 5, 10, 15, 20, 100.

In my fact table i have summed the amounts using Total_Amount = sumx(Results, Results[Amount]) then i have a rank function to rank the products by amount Rank Amount = rankx(allselected('Unique Codes'[Product Code],[Total Amount],,Desc). This is working as it should ranking the products by amount. Now i would like to have a slicer that shows by TopN column where i can choose one of the values and the table as well as any graphs i have on the sheet only show the TopN values. So if i choose 5, the table would show me the top 5 products by amount, and any graph would be filtered to only the top 5 as well. Then top 10 would show the top 10 etc.

I have read a lot of things, but cannot seem to get it to work for me. It would make sense that i would want to create a virtual relationship between my fact product table and my new topN table on the rank, but obviously my TopN table does not have all of the ranks in it.

Thanks for any help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Sean
Community Champion
Community Champion

http://www.daxpatterns.com/parameter-table/

To see an example go to the bottom of the page at the above link where it says Downloads

Download the Excel 2013 zip files - extract all

Then Open PBI - File - Import - Excel Workbook Contents - Select ParametersTable - TopN - Excel 2013.xlsx - Open