Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Should I use VAR in this case?

Hi all,

I have a quick question. 

I have a string value called con_number, and string value called Year. I am trying to understand the unique con_number by year. What I did was creating a new measure called distinct_con: distinctcount(con_number), then I created a table dragging discint_con and year in. However what I noticed was: it isn't grouped by as expected (Please see screenshot I attached here) 

I did some research and it seems like VAR will be needed for this situation. I am still very new to PowerBI and would appreciate if any of you can share some knowledge on this issue. Thanks!
Capture.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

OK. That makes sense then. The arrow indicates that CU_Info filters Sessions (but not the reverse).

In your visual, you have Sesssions[Year] but since the relationship filtering doesn't flow from Sessions to CU_Info (it goes the other way around), it's counting all of the Con_number values for each year.

There are a variety of solutions to this, but the best thing to do in the long run is to make sure you have a proper star schema set up with relevant dimension tables, including a date table. You can usually write DAX to manipulate filters to force things to work but getting the model right makes life much easier down the road (albeit at the cost of having the more upfront cost of building your data model).

For this particular case, I think you could write a measure like this to apply the filtering you want using Sessions as a table filter:

distinct_con = CALCULATE ( DISTINCTCOUNT ( CU_Info[con_number] ), Sessions )

Should work in a pinch. 

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
AlexisOlson
Super User
Super User