Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Sharepoint Online Lists Column names

Hi, I'm currently working on a Power BI development and I face a  issue I don't find anywhere here in the community, when I change a column name in sharpeoint list, it changes in power BI and dashboard stop working.

Context:

I'm a consultant, so I don't have a direct acces to the client's premiun workspace and my workflow goes that way:

I develop/make changes in the dashboard > Send it to cliente IT > IT publish it in premiun workspace (just open and publish) > IT set automatic refresh

Everything was going fine until it was needed to change some column names in sharepoint list for better user understandment, then the automatic refresh crashed because column was not found (system message "The 'MILA' column does not exist in the rowset. Table: Iniciativas." MILA is tha column that was changed)

The problem:

When I opend the report, on my computer, to change the column name, it keeps the orginal sharepoint column name (MILA) and not the changed name (MATURIDADE). But, when client opens the report, on his computer, power BI read the actual column name (MATURIDADE) and not the original (MILA).

I don't find where I change my setting to get the actual columns names on the report, because now everytime that a change is needed I need to add aditional query steps - on my computer - to change the columns name to the actual columns names (lets call them rename1) and steps to set the renamed columns (renamed1) back to the original names (lets call this rename2), so all my measures and visual works, then send it to client IT. Then client IT need to open the report and remove all the rename1 steps, because on their side power bi read actual names.

Adicional Info: