Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Setting the values of a slicer based on the selection of another slicer

Hello All, 

I'm pretty new in Power BI, so I'm not sure if what I ask is possible (due to the limitations of measures and slicers).

I have the following tables:

Filter_Values:

Screenshot_1.png

Source:

Screenshot_3.png

So I want to have two slicer, one with FIlter_Values as source:

Screenshot_4.png

And the second one with values depending on what column is selected in the first slicer, First_Column or Second_Column from Source table.

Then, I want to have a metric with some calculation based on Number_Value from Source table - for example SUM.  

Is there an option this Sum to change it's values based on the selections of the filters, where one depends on the other?

So, one scenario would be: I select Second_Column from the first slicer, then ValueB2 from the second, and the SUM metric should be 11.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

7 REPLIES 7
Michiel
Resolver III
Resolver III

It's not possible to have a slicer dynamically take values from different columns. What you could do, is to have all the values in the Source table in separate rows (i.e. a row with ValueA1 and a row with ValueB1) and add a column indicating whether the row corresponds with First_Column or Second_Column. This column can be linked to the Filter_Values table using a relationship. Now, selecting a column in a slicer filters the Source table to only the values corresponding to the selected column.

Anonymous
Not applicable