Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

sbenzaquen
Helper I
Helper I

Setting a reporting date

Hi,

I need help to find a solution to the following problem:

I'm building a report that summarizes how time is spent within the organization which is updated on a monthly basis. The trends for the last month are obviously more relevant i.e. total time spent , growth from previous month...etc. I'd like to find a way in which I set the reporting date as of a specific month i.e May-21 so this is reflected in the different KPI cards and visuals. I found a way to achieve this by using filters, but I'd like to know if there is a better way that is less manual.

I'm pretty new to powerbi...

Thank you,

Kind regards,

Salvador

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yangliu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi  @sbenzaquen ,

I create some data:

vyangliumsft_0-1624512737277.png

Here are the steps you can follow:

Create calendar.

Date = CALENDARAUTO()

Report transaction time as of Mar-21:

Create measure.

report transaction time as of Mar-21 =
var _select= SELECTEDVALUE('Date'[Date])
return
IF(_select=DATE(YEAR(_select),3,21),
CALCULATE(MAX('Table'[transaction hour]),FILTER(ALL('Table'),'Table'[date]=_select)),
CALCULATE(MAX('Table'[transaction hour]),FILTER(ALL('Table'),'Table'[date]=DATE(YEAR(_select),3,21))))

Growth vs. prior month:

1. Create measure.

This month =
var _date=SELECTEDVALUE('Date'[Date])
return
CALCULATE(SUM('Table'[amount]),FILTER(ALL('Table'),[date]>=DATE(YEAR(_date),MONTH(_date),1)&&[date]<=_date))
Last month =
return
CALCULATE(SUM('Table'[amount]),FILTER(ALL('Table'),[date]>=DATE(YEAR(_date),MONTH(_date)-1,1)&&[date]<=DATE(YEAR(_date),MONTH(_date)-1,DAY(_date))))

2. Using [Date] in the Date table as a slicer, put [This month] and [Last month] into the KPI.