Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Qxi_623
Frequent Visitor

Security for SSAS imported mode

Hi, I am new to PBI and a little confused about the security issue. I know Row level security supported in SSAS live connection, but I would like to make sure if any security available in import mode for SSAS tabular as data source. Anyone could advice? 

Thank you!!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Qxi_623 Power BI supports RLS and is applied to your solution in the Desktop. You can read about that here. It should be a very similiar experiance as that of the Tabular Role based application.

Looking for more Power BI tips, tricks & tools? Check out PowerBI.tips the site I co-own with Mike Carlo. Also, if you are near SE WI? Join our PUG Milwaukee Brew City PUG

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
v-sihou-msft
Employee
Employee

@Qxi_623

As I tested, dynamic Row Level Security also works for SSAS tabular in import mode. When using import mode, you need to provide credentials. It will check current accessing user with Roles defined in Tabular model, then return corresponding records with row filters applied. So you just need to define the role security in Tabular model, it will secure data when users access via Power BI Desktop.

Regards,

@v-sihou-msft