Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Atleti
Frequent Visitor

Same Week last Year Flag

Hey all,

Apologies in advance as I'm fairly new to more complex DAX functions.

I'm attempting to create a column that flags whether or not a product was being sold in the same week last year and if so, flag 'Y' and if not, flag 'N'. I have a date table as well as ISO weeks and years to work with along with the product name, just unsure on how to put this all together to make sure it's flagging by week specifically.

Thanks in advance!

16 REPLIES 16
v-cgao-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Atleti ,

Please create two calculated columns.

week_and_year = YEAR('Table'[Dates])+WEEKNUM('Table'[Dates],2)*10000
Column = 
VAR _value_1 = 'Table'[Brand]
VAR _value_2 =
    CALCULATE (
        MAX ( 'Table'[week_and_year] ),
        FILTER ( 'Table', 'Table'[Brand] = _value_1 )
    )
VAR _value_3 =
    CALCULATE (
        MIN ( 'Table'[week_and_year] ),
        FILTER ( 'Table', 'Table'[Brand] = _value_1 )
    )
RETURN
    SWITCH (
        TRUE (),
        'Table'[Brand] = _value_1
            && _value_2 - _value_3 = 1, "Y",
        "N"
    )

The result should be like this.

vcgaomsft_0-1647329837240.png

Attach the PBIX file for reference. Hope it helps.

If this doesn't work for you or I misunderstand your needs, please consider sharing more details about it. And it would be great if there was a sample file without any sensitive information here.

It makes it easier to give you a solution.

1. Sample (dummy dataset) data as text, use the table tool in the editing bar.
  2. Expected output from sample data.
  3. Explanation in words of how to get from 1. to 2.

Best Regards,
Community Support Team_Gao