Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

intose
Frequent Visitor

Sales last 365 days

Hi,

I am kind of new to DAX and am tinkering with som formulas, can you give me som insights on this matter?

First of all my approach to sum last 365 days sales and then my failing atempt to use variables to increse readability.

I have 2 separate measures to get last and first sales date from my sales table.

Last sales date:= LASTDATE(ALL(Sales[Datum]))
First sales date:= DATEADD(LASTDATE(ALL(Sales[Datum]));-365;DAY)

and then

Sales 365:= CALCULATE(SUM(Sales[Antal]);DATESBETWEEN(Sales[Datum];[Date first sale];[Date last sale]))

This works as intended from what I can see, any comments on my approach?

In order to reduce number of measures and increse the readability I hav been trying this but only get blank return value. What am I doing wrong?

Sales 365_1:=
Var DateLastSale = LASTDATE(ALL(Sales[Datum]))
Var DateFirstSale= DATEADD(LASTDATE(ALL(Sales[Datum]));-365;DAY)
Return
CALCULATE(SUM(Sales[Qty]);DATESBETWEEN(Sales[Datum];DateLastSale ;DateFirstSale))

Thanx in advance

edit:

Add link to sample file in Excel OneDrive

//INTO

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-alq-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi, @intose 

If you want to use time intellegence function, you need a date table containing all continuous days for that year.  Moreover, most of the time intelligence functions require a separate Date table to work correctly. I created data to reproduce your scenario. The pbix file is attached at the end.

Table:

d1.png

Calendar:

Calendar = CALENDARAUTO()

There is a relationship between two tables. You may create a measure as below.

Result1 = 
CALCULATE(
    SUM('Table'[Sales]),
    DATESINPERIOD(
        'Calendar'[Date],
        LASTDATE('Calendar'[Date]),
        Day
    )
)