Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Sales and Forecast in same matrix

Hi I am a total beginner to PBI and have only just started picking it up these few days. I have been tasked to do up a Demand Waterfall Matrix on Powerbi, to analyse accuracy in forecasts and sales over time. 

I have 2 main datasets, one consists of past sales data and the other consists of future monthly forecast data. I have already populated a matrix visualisation (Month by Month) with monthly forecasts, where the Row months show when the forecast was entered, and the Column months show when the forecast is expected. However, for months that have already passed, the cells should be filled with Sales figures of that month. 

1. Can i ask if it is possible to add in past sales data on the same matrix, while keeping only 1 row and 1 column for each month? Do I need to append the sales data to the forecast data table? 

2. How do I duplicate each rows in my Sales data in Power Query so that the sales figure appears for every month up till the current month? For example, for the sales that occured in 2020 Jan, how do I populate the rest of the months (2020 Jan-2021 June) with this same figure? Currently, it would only show up in 2020 Jan-2020 Jan in my matrix, but I want it to show for the rest of the following months too. 

Thank you and I would really appreciate any help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-rzhou-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous 

You can build a measure to show Sales values from Jan to Jun and show Foreast values in month after June in matrix.

My Sample, Foreast table is from 2021/01/01 to 2021/12/31.

1.png

Sales table is from 2021/01/01 to Today(2021/06/15)

2.png