Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

thorpyuk
Helper III
Helper III

Sales Period To Date

Hi all, i'm new to Power BI, and although i've had some training, will need some time to get used to DAX & working with PBI.

I've started to replicate a sales report, and i'm struggling with 'sales period to date'.

I have created a measure which does work for this, but my problem is getting it to work with a week slicer i have on my page. My current formula is 

NetSalesIncPTD = SUMX ( VALUES ( 'db_v_BaseCalendar_TYLY'[Period] ), [NetSalesIncM] )
But this only works if there's no week selected on my week slicer. I did think about editing the interactions, but i do need a link there because i want it to show 'period to date' based on the week that i have selected. EG, if i have week 2 of period 6 selected, i want to sum weeks 1 and 2. If i have week 4 of the period selected, i want to sum weeks 1 through 4 of period 5 etc.
Thanks in advance for your help!
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Create a rank based on week start date in your date table and try

Measure =
var _week = maxx(Date,Date[Week full Desc])
var _rank = maxx(filter(Date,Date[Week full Desc]=_week),Date[Rank])
var _prd = maxx(filter(Date,Date[Week full Desc]=_week),Date[Period])
return
calculate(sum(Sales[Sales]), filter(Date, Date[Period] =_prd && Date[Rank] <=_rank))

Attaching the file to refer week rank

Appreciate your Kudos.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
amitchandak
Super User
Super User

I am not sure what you want. can you explain with example. In case you need to deal with weeks refer to this file.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/d9898a48e76wmvl/sales_analytics_weekWise.pbix?dl=0

For other time and even for a week make sure you have a date calendar in place.