Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

SUMX on summarized table

Hi,

I'm quite new in the usage of DAX. So sorry for this maybe basic question. Let's assume I have a fact table fallen 'Sales' which contains following columns:

Month, Country,Campaign,Product Code ,Units, Sales. 

Based upon this I am creating different measures. 

Now I would need to calculate an effect on a monthly basis by country and product (so practically without respecting the campaign column). This must be calculated row by row. So from my understanding it must be a SUMX function (but on a summarized / aggregated table).

Example:

Sample BI.PNG

The row below the countries are Campaigns on which the desired calculation 'Effect Region' is not possible (no correct Delta Units as PY figures are not on the same campaign) instead calculation should be done on the total of the market (so e.g. '1086*-0,32' for Czech Republic). The total overall selected markets should be the sum of every market ('-469' with this sample data)

My thinking was to apply SUMX on a summarized table so my measure for 'Effect Region' is this: = sumx(CALCULATETABLE(SUMMARIZE(Sales,Sales[COUNTRY_CODE],'Calendar'[Date],Sales[PROD_CODE],"Units summed",[UNITS Sum],"UNITS PY",[UNITS PY])),([Units summed]-[UNITS PY])*[Price Diff PY Region - Global]). But unfortunately there is no different result compared to = (SUMX(Sales,[Delta Units]*[Price Diff PY Region - Global])).

Is there any way in DAX to achieve the desired result?

Thanks a lot in advance 

Nico

3 REPLIES 3
affan
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @Anonymous,

Please share some base data and you expected outcome/result sample

Regards

Affan

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @affan,