Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

brotha_lee
Regular Visitor

SUMIF / DAX

Hi,

I am new to DAX but I am struggling with a very simple question.

I have the following table:

AccountingPeriodProjectAmount
201801X10
201802X-10
201803 20
201803Y50
201803Y0

What I want is to add a measure which calculate the total a project (over the entire selection). So the output should be like this:

AccountingPeriodProjectAmountProject Total
201801X100
201802X-100
201803 2020
201803Y5050
201803Y050

I can't seem to get it working! Can anybody help?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Ashish_Mathur
Super User
Super User

Hi,

Here is the result i got.  You may download the PBI file from here.

Hope this helps.

Untitled.png

Regards,
Ashish Mathur
http://www.ashishmathur.com
https://www.linkedin.com/in/excelenthusiasts/

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Ashish_Mathur
Super User
Super User

Hi,

Here is the result i got.  You may download the PBI file from here.

Hope this helps.

Untitled.png

Regards,
Ashish Mathur
http://www.ashishmathur.com
https://www.linkedin.com/in/excelenthusiasts/
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi

This will help you.

Proj_total = CALCULATE(SUM(Ex_Over[Amount]), FILTER(Ex_Over,Ex_Over[Project]=EARLIER(Ex_Over[Project])))

Earlier.PNG

Thanks
Raj

Thanks for the response however I get the following error when using the formula:

EARLIER/EARLIEST refers to an earlier row context which doesn't exist.

How can I solve this / Am I doing something wrong?

Here is my formula with the table names: 

PROJ_TOTAL = CALCULATE(SUM('ENT_SCD rptGLBalance'[Amount]);FILTER('ENT_SCD rptGLBalance';'ENT_SCD rptGLBalance'[Project]=EARLIER('ENT_SCD rptGLBalance'[Project])))

Anonymous
Not applicable

@brotha_lee wrote:

Thanks for the response however I get the following error when using the formula: