Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

purple_ninja
Regular Visitor

SUM function cannot work with values of type String error

Hi

I'm new to Power BI and trying to create some dashboards that show the sum of costs by category. I've followed the steps below but I cannot create a chart as I keep getting the error 'Function SUM takes na argument that evaluates to numbers or dates and cannot work with values of type string'.

In power query

1) pulled data from source,

2) converted all number columns to whole number

3) removed any error or null values with 0

4) loaded to workbook and checked fields - those that have come through as 'general' I have changed in the work book to number/date accordingly (why does it change it anyway??)

In Power BI desktop

5) Loaded data and created pie chart showing the categories

6) created a measure to calculate the total cost

7) attemped to create a bar chart to show costs by category.....

😎 Error message

In an ideal world I'd like to build the power query into the Power BI dashboard so I don't have to keep refreshing a second file - is there an eay way to load the connection?

5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi, 

I can't create a total column with the SUM function. I have the same problem, Power BI desktop tells me that it can't display the value through a visual.

Can you help me?

v-yulgu-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @purple_ninja,

Please make sure the data you loaded to PowerBI desktop is in correct format, especially the cost column which should be number type.

3.PNG

If you have any question, please feel free to ask.

Best regards,
Yuliana Gu

Community Support Team _ Yuliana Gu
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Thanks! This solved my problem

Hi,