Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

daxesh
Helper I
Helper I

SSAS > Tabular Model > How to generate one table from another table?

Hello,

I am stuck in a Power BI and SSAS model implementation.
I am new at preparing Tabular Model using SSAS. I plan to use this model in Power BI.

My problem is that I am not able to generate one table from another table.
Actually, I am planning to generate a new table from a fact table after applying some conditions in my model.

Let’s say I have fact table fact_data and I want to generate fact_data_1 applying condition on fact_data (like ‘fact_data’[status]=”Active”).

Further, I will use both the tables in 2 separate visualizations respectively.

Please guide how this could be achieved.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Hello Daxesh,

To address your concern, basically what I can recommend is, just have 1 fact table with all the required columns & then keep adding expression columns with the required filter conditions. If the condition is true, return true/1 else false/0. Then on the visualisation front, just add page level filter using the expression column related to this view & set it to TRUE/1.

Doing this way, you have can use the same fact data filtered based on multiple conditions for the different views you want to generate. And the visualisation will consider only the rows having TURE/1 in their corresponding expression column.

Hope, this helps!

View solution in original post

Thank you so much @vinaypugalia.

It worked for me.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
ImkeF
Super User
Super User

In this case I wouldn't recommend to build one table "from antother (query) table" in Power BI.