Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Ohene
Regular Visitor

SIMPLE VALUE DATED REPORTS

Hello everyone im new with power BI and i want to ask two very simple report questions and i will be very happy if the responses are kept in very simple language that a newbie will understand.

I have a report that i have created from importing data from a db2 database. There are no date columns in my data. just product_name, balances and totals. This report data i understand will update daily when refreshed. Therefore, balances and totals will update as well on a daily bases as the database is updated with transaction.

What i want to Achieve

-------------------------

1.I want to be able to introduce a date filter to this report, such that, when i choose a particular date, i will get the the last updated balances and totals as at 23:59(11:59pm) that day.

2. I want to be able to introduce a text filter to the viewers of the report, such that, users can type in product name(not select from a list), and then the list column will be updated by the typed text.

Kindly assist me in the simplest of language expression for my understanding. Thank you

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

@Ohene,

Firstly, to use Date filter to filter the visual, you would need to have date values in your table.

Secondly, you can use Text filter custom visual, which users can type in product name and filter the visual.

Regards,
Lydia

Community Support Team _ Lydia Zhang
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

@Ohene,

You can add a calculate column using DAX below.

Date=NOW()

Regards,
Lydia