Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

jblackshear
Advocate III
Advocate III

SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR with a year filter

I am trying to display sales data for the current year, with a measure for the current month's sales, YTD sales together with last year's YTD. We only want to display a single year's data on this report/dashboard, although I have loaded three years worth of data into the model to give previous YTD for last year as well, if needed. (This is a demo/prototype that will eventually be a real dashboard, to demonstrate to the execs some additional kinds of things they can see and do.) There will be a slicer for year (although they will almost always only look at the current year), and slicers for a few other values as well, such as Division, and down to individual Customer.

I am new to Power BI and clearly have not yet mastered the intricacies of evaluation context. I have created three different versions of my RevenueLastYTD measure (actually many many more but these are the three that mostly work but with a significant problem). Each measure returns the correct values when it returns anything at all. So that's something.

RevenueLastYTD = CALCULATE([RevenueYTD], SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR(Dates[CalcDate].[Date]))

The simplest and most straight-forward. It works just fine as long as I have no date filter. But as I said, I need to display only a single year. When I have the date filtered to 2016, the 2015 data is invisible to the measure and it returns blanks for the previous YTD measure.

The next measure was an attempt to overcome that problem, by getting All(Dates) before calculating SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR.

RevenueLastYTDv2 = CALCULATE([RevenueYTD], ALL(Dates), SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR(Dates[CalcDate].[Date]))