Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

strider34

Running total of calculated column

Hello,

I'm trying to create a calculated column called OpenNCs in a table called NCDelta.  The OpenNCs column is intended to show a running total of another calculated column, NCDiff, in the same table.  It says a circular dependency was detected and I'm a noob so I haven't been able to figure this out.  The below picture shows my formula and the error.  In the "OpenNCs" column I would like to have it show 6, 7, 37...

strider34_0-1617386536960.png

Here is the formula in the other calculated column.

strider34_1-1617386933699.png

What the NCDiff formula does is look at two other tables and subtracts the number of records that were counted as opened and closed on a date, providing the difference.  I am trying to use this difference to show the total number of records that were open on a given day.  (Note that I changed the Table names for the screenshot, causing a lot of red underlines).

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
strider34

I was able to solve this by deleting the "OpenNCs" column and creating a running total using Quick Measure where I selected "NCDiff" for the Base Value and "Date" for the Field.  I guess I learned my lesson with going crazy with calculated columns.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
strider34

I was able to solve this by deleting the "OpenNCs" column and creating a running total using Quick Measure where I selected "NCDiff" for the Base Value and "Date" for the Field.  I guess I learned my lesson with going crazy with calculated columns.

CNENFRNL
Community Champion
Community Champion

@strider34 , as far as I'm concerned, I avoid, whenever possible, using CALCULATE/CALCULATETABLE in a calculated column; so that merely row context takes effect when authoring a DAX formula.