Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Running Total to Ignore Specific Filter

Okay. So I've made a lot of progress on a Running Total measure (and again much thanks to these forums), but I have one additional question. Bear with me as I'm still learning about contexts and filters and how they impact everything. 

My Running Total is adding up the number of graduates over every semester (Spring, Summer, Fall) over multiple years. So for any particular cohort, I can track the total number of graduates as they add up each semester. Works fine.

But Summer is often a "lower" enrollment time for a particular cohort, so I want to filter out that Semester for the visualization. The problem when I do this is that the equation no longer includes Summer graduates in my Running Total. I understand why it does this, I just don't know how to prevent this in my equation. 

Here's my equation:

RunningGradTotal = CALCULATE(DISTINCTCOUNT(DegreeConferred[StudentID]),FILTER(ALLSELECTED(DegreeConferred),DegreeConferred[TERM_END_DATE]<=MAX(TermInfo[TERM_END_DATE])),VALUES(CohortOriginal))

Here's an example:

Term      Graduates

12/FA    50

13/SP    100

13/SU    110      //10 students graduated in Summer

13/FA    160      

But if I filter out Summer, I get something like:

Here's an example:

Term      Graduates

12/FA    50

13/SP    100

13/FA    150      //I'm missing the 10 students graduated in Summer, I should still get 160 total graduates here regardless of the SU filter

Any thoughts / help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
jahida
Impactful Individual
Impactful Individual

Can you add a clause to the CALCULATE function with ALL(Table[Column]) with whatever column the slicer is based on?

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
jahida