Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

karabryan
Helper I
Helper I

Running Total by Year and By Plant Issue

I am fairly new to PowerBI and have seen the topics on running totals by year.  I am using the following but don't get a running total every time and when it does work (it will work at points and then revert back to unsummed data), I am not able to use it in another calculation because it does not appear as a field to select from.  I am trying to calculate inventory turns.

Here is the table format:

Company | DateTable.SortDate (I've also tried DateTable.Date) | InvTurnsInv | InvTurnsCOGS

I need a column that returns the running total of the InvTurnsInv column by year for each company.  I also need another column that allows me to use that new column in an inventory turns calculation.

My date table is linked to my InvTurns Data table.

I am using the following formula:

InvTurnsYTD =
TOTALYTD(SUM('InventoryTurnsCOGS'[INVTURNSINV]), 'DateTable'[Date])

This worked for me in a table where I needed a running total on Accounts Receivables but same thing - I can't use this running total in a formula for another calculated field.

Any help would be appreciated!!

4 REPLIES 4
parry2k
Super User
Super User

@karabryan sorry not sure what you mean by running total not work for another calculated columns, please provide more details. Read this post to get your answer quickly.

https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Community-Blog/How-to-Get-Your-Question-Answered-Quickly/ba-p/38490

Subscribe to the @PowerBIHowTo YT channel for an upcoming video on List and Record functions in Power Query!!

Learn Power BI and Fabric - subscribe to our YT channel - Click here: @PowerBIHowTo