Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

barbforsman
Resolver I
Resolver I

Running Total by Month

I am brand new to Power BI Desktop and am LOVING it so far.

Except I am unable to correctly calculate a running total by month.  I have read and reread multiple posts about this already, and tried the formulats in the attached screenshot, but as you can see by the results for each formula tried, the totals do not accumlate month over month.  

Capture.JPG

My expected results are:

Month20162017 Total 
1 $    2,495.00 $    3,626.10 $      6,121.10
2 $    3,520.00 $  10,816.80 $    14,336.80
3 $    4,545.00 $  24,427.49 $    28,972.49
4 $    4,545.00 $  37,775.18 $    42,320.18
5 $    4,945.00 $  52,630.93 $    57,575.93
6 $    8,985.00 $  60,193.77 $    69,178.77
7 $  15,232.57 $  65,007.64 $    80,240.21
8 $  15,232.57 $  97,359.53 $  112,592.10

I have created a date table, dDateTable in the formulas and it has a 1:N relationship to my salesorder table.

Can you help me understand how to do this?  I apologize for repeating a question that has been asked before, but I just cannot get it to work on my own. 

Many thanks for your help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
GilbertQ
Super User
Super User

Hi @barbforsman

Quick question when you are creating your tables, are you using the columns (Month, Year) from the Date table?

If you are using the columns from your Fact or table with the values then the calculations that you created will not work as expected.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

Power BI Blog

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
GilbertQ
Super User
Super User

Hi @barbforsman

Quick question when you are creating your tables, are you using the columns (Month, Year) from the Date table?