cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Helper V
Helper V

Running/Cumulative total is wrong, showing the base values

Hello! I'm a bit new to PowerBI and I know this gets asked a lot but I have a problem with my running/cumulative total. I've been trying to solve this for more than a week now but I still can't solve it.

I have a report with different measures in a hierarchy with date value and I'm computing my running total. But my running total is returning the base value which is not the right value.

Below is my running total measure:

SUMX(FILTER(ALLSELECTED('Cashflow A'[Date].[Month]),'Cashflow A'[Date].[Month] <= MAX('Cashflow A'[Date].[Month])),[Total Category AB])

My base value is [Total Category AB].

Below is the my visual:

crln-blue_0-1610939467645.png

I prepared a pbix file and replicated my calculations in order to share with you the issue. 

Github link (if the link above doesn't work)

Thank you very much in advance!

4 REPLIES 4
Super User IV
Super User IV

@crln-blue , Try like

SUMX(FILTER(ALLSELECTED('Cashflow A'[Date]),'Cashflow A'[Date] <= MAX('Cashflow A'[Date])),[Total Category AB])

or

SUMX(FILTER(ALLSELECTED('Cashflow A'),'Cashflow A'[Date] <= MAX('Cashflow A'[Date])),[Total Category AB])

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution! Appreciate your Kudos!!
Dashboard of My Blogs !! YouTube Channel !! Connect on Linkedin

Proud to be a Super User!

@amitchandak wrote:

@crln-blue, Try like

SUMX(FILTER(ALLSELECTED('Cashflow A'[Date]),'Cashflow A'[Date] <= MAX('Cashflow A'[Date])),[Total Category AB])

or

SUMX(FILTER(ALLSELECTED('Cashflow A'),'Cashflow A'[Date] <= MAX('Cashflow A'[Date])),[Total Category AB])

I already tried this but it's still not working. The first formula you suggested gives off a large result and on the second formula, it's still the base value.