Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

desiree
Frequent Visitor

Running Average of Group Data

Hello, I am new to Power BI and DAX. I am trying to create a measure for calculating the moving average of 3 monthly sales by shops. 

On the dashboard there is a slicer for shops, and also a timeline slicer for date, so the user can analyze the dashboard data for a month or quarter. I want to add a moving average line in the sales bar chart by months. Please advise how should I set the DAX formula.

Below a simplified example table:

table.png

I have also created a Calendar table from 2014-1-1 to 2016-12-31:

Calendar.png

I searched the internet and found below DAX for moving Sum. However, I don't know how to modify it so that it will be done by Shop as well.

[3 Month Moving Sum Sales] =
CALCULATE([Sales],
          DATESINPERIOD(Calendar[Date],
                        LASTDATE(Calendar[Date]),-3, Month 
         )

Many thanks in advanced!!! 

9 REPLIES 9
Sean
Community Champion
Community Champion

@desiree This should work... Let me know...

3 Month Moving Sum =
CALCULATE (
    [Sales],
    ALLEXCEPT ( 'Table', 'Table'[Store] ),
    DATESINPERIOD ( 'Calendar'[Date], LASTDATE ( 'Calendar'[Date] ), -3, MONTH )
)

EDIT: You could use the above Measure to also calculate the 3 Month Average below ...

3 Month Moving Avg =
DIVIDE (
    [3 Month Moving Sum],
    CALCULATE (
        DISTINCTCOUNT ( 'Calendar'[Date] ),
    ),
)

Hope this helps! Let me know... 

desiree
Frequent Visitor

@Sean , Sorry that I just realize my table is as below.. Actually, I need to calcuate the moving average for each Area which is a slicer in my dashbaord... and a area will include many stores.   Sorry for confusion.   (I am trying to screen capture my dashboard, hope above information helps at this moment)