Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Arun_S
Regular Visitor

Roll up Calculations

Capture.PNG

Hi - I am new to Power BI. Assuming the above is my dataset, I can now create a new column for ItemCost (Qty * Rate). How can I create a column or measure for InvoiceCost. I am looking at way to create sum(qty*rate) for each Invoice.

I use this in Tableau: {FIXED [Invoice_Num] : SUM([ItemCost])} ... looking for an equivalent in Power BI.

thanks for your time in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

@Arun_S,

Create a measure using DAX below.

count = 
VAR tab= SUMMARIZE(Table,Table[Invoice_Num],"cost",SUMX(Table,Table[Qty]*Table[Rate]))

return
CALCULATE(COUNTROWS(FILTER(tab,[cost]<10)))

Regards,
Lydia

Community Support Team _ Lydia Zhang
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

@Arun_S,

Create a measure using DAX below.

count = 
VAR tab= SUMMARIZE(Table,Table[Invoice_Num],"cost",SUMX(Table,Table[Qty]*Table[Rate]))

return
CALCULATE(COUNTROWS(FILTER(tab,[cost]<10)))

Regards,
Lydia

Community Support Team _ Lydia Zhang
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
jday
Helper I
Helper I

Hello,

You can create the new column that would give you the Item Cost

Total Cost= Table[Qty]*Table[Rate]

Once you do this you can create a measure that sums the Total Cost 

Sum Total Cost = SUM(Table[Total Cost]) 

Then create your visualization and bring in the Invoice_Num and the Sum Total Cost Measure you created

Arun_S
Regular Visitor

Hi..thanks for looking into this.