Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Hoho1
Frequent Visitor

Reverse cumulative by group

Hello,

I'm very new to PowerBI and apologies if something similar has already been asked.

I have the following table where I have scores by month (grouping variable) with a count for each score. I need to get a reverse cumulative column that will sum all values in the Count column that belong to Index values greater than each row's index value for each of the months. And then I want to divide that by the month total count.  Easy! In Excel it looks like this:

Sumifs.png

I don't neccessarily need to do everything in one step but I would prefer a solution in M rather than DAX. Obviously I've got more thant 2 months of data. I've gotten to the point in M that I get my Index column but can't figure out how to get a reverse cumulative by group.

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
MarcelBeug
Community Champion
Community Champion

You can first perform the calculations without grouping, then turn that query into a function,

Then use that function in combination with Table.Group.

This 8 minute video illustrates the steps in a similar case, including some specifics I also used in this case (buffering, using Value.Type).

By the way, there is some discrepancy between your text and your formula, as Counts are summed with an Index greater than the current Index, not with a Score greater than the current Score.

Function Calculate:

(Table as table) as table =>
let
    Source = Table,
    Counts = List.Buffer(Source[Count]),
    AddedCalc = Table.AddColumn(Source, "Calc", each List.Sum(List.Skip(Counts,[Index])&{0}) / List.Sum(Counts), Percentage.Type)
in
    AddedCalc

Query Output (Table1 is your data, already available as a query in Power Query):

let
    Source = Table.Buffer(Table1),