Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Jogchum
Frequent Visitor

Returning success or failure based on date/time comparison

Hey everyone, 

I'm pretty new at powerBI so I hope I can get some direction here. 

I work for an online store where the promise to the customer is that if they place an order before 18:00 it will be shipped the same day for next day delivery. I want to display per date wether that promise was met or not (if met: "Success" if not: "Failure"). I was thinking of displaying that data in a calendar visual. I just can't really get it to work.

I have a datetable which has a relation to the table with the date and time of the moment an order was packed. I use the datetable to populate the calendar to display only the packed orders. I use this to show how many orders were packed and shipped each day. See below for example. 

Jogchum_0-1599151009380.png

I then have two other tables, one has the date/time of the placement of the order (in a single column, formatted like: "*14-3-2001 13:30:55"). The other has the date of the order being packed. In order to know if the customer promise was met I need to evaluate for each day if the order date/time of the final packed order of that day is greater than the packing date/time of 18:00 hours. If greater, then success, if not failure. 

My idea was to use the date table to populate the calendar visual and then use the measure which returns "success" or "failure" as the Data. Any ideas on how to do this? 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Jogchum ,

If I understand you correctly, you can use the following measure:

customer promise = VAR a = MAX('Picked and packed orderlines'[Ordernumber]) return IF(CALCULATE(MAX('Picked and packed orderlines'[OrderTime]),'Picked and packed orderlines'[Ordernumber] = a)>TIME(18,0,0),"Success","Failed")